MINUTES OF A PUBLIC HEARING OF THE JACKSON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS HELD ON OCTOBER 16, 2017

The Jackson County Board of Commissioners held a Public Hearing on October 16, 2017, at 5:55 p.m., Justice & Administration Building, Room A201, 401 Grindstaff Cove Road, Sylva, North Carolina.

Present: Brian McMahan, Chairman Charles Elders, Vice Chair Boyce Deitz, Commissioner Mickey Luker, Commissioner Ron Mau, Commissioner Don Adams, County Manager Heather C. Baker, County Attorney Angela M. Winchester, Clerk to Board

Chairman McMahan called the public hearing to order and stated the purpose was to receive public input for consideration of the proposed amendments to the Tourism Development Authority Resolution.

Robert Jumper, Tourism Development Authority Chairman, stated that at the August 16th regular board meeting, the TDA unanimously agreed to recommend to the Commissioners, for their consideration, a reduction in their board size from 15 to 9 members.

With one vacancy, five board members rotating off that year and one board member that would be stepping down in December, it would be the ideal time for this reduction. With those changes, they would have nine members on the board without removing any sitting board members.

They also suggested:

- At least one half of members should be active in the promotion of travel and tourism in Jackson County.
- Group One (3) Lodging Properties; (2) Hotel/Resort/Inn Properties North Jackson County; (1) from other occupancy tax remitters from establishments with 10+ units/rooms.
- Group Two (3) Lodging Properties; (2) Hotel/Resort/Inn Properties South Jackson County; (1) from other occupancy tax remitters from establishments with 10+ units/rooms.
- Group Three (1) Tourism-related business representative from Jackson County At-Large.
- Group Four (1) representative from the Cashiers Chamber of Commerce in a non-lodging, tourism related business (who is not employed by the CACOC). The Executive Director from the Cashiers Area Chamber of Commerce. The Executive Director will be an ex officio member with no term limit.
- Group Five (1) representative from the Jackson County Chamber of Commerce in a non-lodging, tourism-related business (who is not employed by the JCCOC). The Executive Director from the Jackson County Chamber of Commerce. The Executive Director will be an ex officio member with no term limit.
- Section 3: Terms of Appointments. The initial terms of the members of the Authority shall be as follows:
 - A. One year term: two members from Group One, two members from Group Two and one member from Group Three.
 - B. Two year term: two members from Group One, two members from Group Two and one member from Group Three and one member from Group Four.
 - C. Three year term: one member from Group One, one member from Group Two, one member from Group Three, one member from Group Five.

Thereafter, all terms shall be for three years except, in order to continue rotating membership, when there is a reconfiguration of the Board Members by Resolution of the Commissioners, one member of Group One and one member of Group Two may have their current term extended for an additional year. Reappointment to the Authority shall be limited to two consecutive terms with eligibility for another appointment after sitting out for one year. Any member of the Authority may resign by a written resignation with the Chairperson of the Authority.

• Section 9: Quorum. A majority of the number of directors fixed by these By-Laws shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business at any meeting of the Board of Directors.

All of the recommendations had been vetted by the County Attorney and found to be compliant with the enabling state legislation.

PUBLIC COMMENTS: None.

There being no public comments, Commissioner Mau moved that the public hearing be adjourned. Commissioner Elders seconded the Motion. Motion carried.

Attest:	Approved:
Angela M. Winchester, Clerk	Brian Thomas McMahan, Chairman