

Jackson County Department of Public Health

538 Scotts Creek Road • Sylva, NC 28779 Tel: 828-586-8994 • FAX: 828-586-3493 Anna Lippard DIRECTOR

To: Jackson County Board of County Commissioners

Subject: Board of Health Member Appointment Recommendation

Date: June 10, 2025

Dear Members of the Board of County Commissioners,

North Carolina General Statute \$130A-35 outlines the authority of the Local Board of Health and defines its required composition. As you are aware, members of the Local Board of Health are appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. Nine of the eleven current Board of Health members have terms that will expire in July 2025. Board members serve three-year terms and may serve up to a total of nine years.

At this time, I respectfully recommend the reappointment of the following individuals to serve another term on the Jackson County Board of Health:

Discipline	Name	Years Served
Licensed Physician	Dr. David Trigg	6
Licensed Dentist	Dr. David LeMay	0.5
Licensed Optometrist	Dr. Brandi Hicks	6
Registered Nurse	Emily Buchanan, RN	6
Licensed Pharmacist	Kim Cowan	6
Professional Engineer	Jerry DeWeese	6
At-Large Member	Kathy Farmer	6
At-Large Member	Ellerna Forney	6
At-Large Member	Kyle Clayton	2.5

Each of these individuals has demonstrated a strong commitment to public health and brings valuable expertise to the Board. Their continued service will greatly benefit our community.

Thank you for your consideration of these recommendations. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need any additional information.

Sincerely,

anna Ripport

Anna Lippard, Health Director