

## Proclamation

## Honoring Jackson County Little League Dedication, Pride and Teamwork

**WHEREAS**, the Jackson County Little League (JCLL) is committed to being a preeminent educational-athletic organization by encouraging participation, developing character and discipline, promoting teamwork and advocating community pride. JCLL creates a positive environment in which coaches, parents, fans and players work together to achieve this goal; and

**WHEREAS**, Jackson County has participated in Little League since 1957 and is celebrating their 65<sup>th</sup> season in 2022. Three generations of Jackson County residents are currently participating in the league; and

**WHEREAS**, JCLL is an all-volunteer organization serving youth from ages 4-15 in baseball, softball and the future challenger program played at Fairview Fields and Mark Watson Park; and

WHEREAS, JCLL is proud of the achievements of all of our players on and off the field. Some of our Alumni have had standout careers in both baseball and softball setting local records at high schools and several players have moved on to notable careers at the college level and in Major League Baseball; and

**WHEREAS**, JCLL would like to thank all businesses and individuals who, over the last 65 years, have donated money, goods or time to the youth of Jackson County. JCLL serves over 550 players in the spring and fall seasons and is funded by those player registrations and team sponsorships; and

**WHEREAS**, JCLL games, practices and All Star Tournaments take place at Fairview Fields and Mark Watson Park cultivating lifelong friendships and community relationships.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED** that the Jackson County Board of Commissioners hereby declares Saturday, April 2, 2022 as Jackson County Little League Day.

In recognition of 65 years of dedicated service to the county and our youth, everyone is invited to the JCLL opening day ceremonies on April  $2^{nd}$  at 10:30 a.m. at Mark Watson Park.

Date: March 01, 2022.	
Attest:	Ву:
Angela M. Winchester, Clerk to the Board	Brian Thomas McMahan, Chairman