





Proclamation

Southwestern Community College's 50th Anniversary

WHEREAS, the institution now known as Southwestern Community College originated as "Jackson County Industrial Education Center" – a satellite of A-B Tech – in the 1964-65 academic year; and

WHEREAS, Jackson County Industrial Education Center began operations with four programs and 190 students; and

WHEREAS, Southwestern became an independent unit of the NC Department of Community Colleges in 1968 and changed its name to Southwestern Technical Institute before becoming Southwestern Technical College in 1979; and

WHEREAS, Southwestern has operated under its current name since 1988; and

WHEREAS, thousands of Southwestern graduates now live and work in the college's service area of Jackson, Macon, Swain Counties and the Qualla Boundary; and

WHEREAS, SCC now offers more than 80 programs and serves more than 9,000 students annually; and

WHEREAS, SCC touches virtually every person residing in its service area through alumni and its vast array of programs;

NOW, THEREFORE, THE BOARDS OF COMMISSIONERS OF JACKSON COUNTY, MACON COUNTY AND SWAIN COUNTY, hereby proclaim, recognize and celebrate the 50th anniversary of Southwestern Community College throughout the 2014-15 academic year while honoring the founders of Jackson County Industrial Education Center.

Date: April 10, 2015.

Attest:

Angela M. Winchester, Clerk to the Board Mark Jones, Vice-Chairman

Jackson County Board of Commissioners

Jackson County Board of Commissioners

Mike Decker, Deputy Clerk to the Board
Macon County Board of Commissioners

Kevin Corbin, Chairman

Macon County Board of Commissioners

Circli C Westerland Courte Manager

Cindi C. Woodard, County Manager
Swain County Board of Commissioners
Phil Carson, Chairman
Swain County Board of Commissioners